Usabilitally

Usability testing for accessibility

The usefulness of a Thinking aloud test is indisputable to find out where the weaknesses of a tool lie. We combine this methodology with accessibility testing in which our test persons test your application, e.g. with screen readers or supported by sign language interpreters.

And because we are so adept at remote work, the test leader and test subject meet in BigBlueButton and record the session. As a result, you receive the recording as well as a written evaluation that you can evaluate with your team.

Of course, our Broken Image business department also offers classic accessibility testing, e.g. expert opinions according to BITV or WCAG, as well as the creation and monitoring of accessibility declarations.

By the way, the name of this test is a contraction of usability and accessibility (with the common abbreviation A11y), the internationally common terms for usability and accessibility.

Would you like an example?

We subjected our own website to such a test and actually found hurdles ourselves. In the words of our accessibility blogger Dennis Westphal: "Interesting how differently you walk through when the task is different from the general quality assurance." Dennis put himself in the shoes of a casual acquaintance of the company for this exemplary recording.

Feel free to be curious, you can download the associated test record here:

.

Usabilitally

Usability-Tests auf Barrierefreiheit

Der Nutzen eines Thinking-Aloud-Tests ist unbestritten, um herauszufinden, wo die Schwächen eines Tools liegen. Wir verbinden diese Methodik mit Barrierefreiheitstests, indem unsere Proband*innen z. B. mit Screenreader oder unterstützt durch Gebärdendolmetscher*innen Ihre Anwendung testen.

Und weil wir im Remote-Work so versiert sind, treffen sich Testleiterin und Proband in BigBlueButton und zeichnen die Sitzung auf. Im Ergebnis erhalten Sie die Aufzeichnung sowie eine schriftliche Auswertung, die Sie mit Ihrem Team auswerten können.

Natürlich bietet unser Geschäftsbereich Broken Image auch klassische Barrierefreiheitstests an, z. B. Gutachten nach BITV oder WCAG, sowie die Erstellung und das Monitoring von Barrierefreiheitserklärungen.

Der Name dieses Tests ist übrigens eine Zusammenziehung von Usability und Accessibility (mit der verbreiteten Abkürzung A11y), den international gängigen Begriffen für Gebrauchsfreundlichkeit und Barrierefreiheit.

Ein Beispiel gefällig?

Wir haben unsere eigene Website einem solchen Test unterzogen und tatsächlich selbst noch Hürden festgestellt. Mit den Worten unseres Barrierefreiheitsbloggers Dennis Westphal: "Interessant, wie unterschiedlich man durchgeht, wenn die Aufgabenstellung eine andere ist als die allgemeine Qualitätssicherung." Dennis hat sich für diese exemplarische Aufzeichnung in die Rolle eines flüchtigen Bekannten der Firma hineinversetzt:

Seien Sie ruhig neugierig - hier können Sie das zugehörige Testprotokoll herunterladen: